The Choice is Yours

SEABROOK SAYS:  It’s time to vote.  Do whatever it takes to VOTE. Now that you know, what will you do?

We all know that 2016 is an important Presidential election year.  It is a time when all citizens should be energized, full of excitement and poised to get out the vote for the candidates of their choice. In my humble opinion, this election cycle could prove to be one of the most important in the history of voting in America.  We will elect leaders at all levels of federal, state and local government, council of state, judges, and a bond referendum.  This writer cannot tell you how to vote or for whom you should cast your ballot. However, with such high stakes in this election, it is imperative that every eligible voter cast their vote early or in the March 15th primary election. The voice of the voter will be heard but only if you choose to exercise your constitutional responsibility.

Why should we vote? As a United States citizen, it is our right and responsibility. We stand on the shoulders of many, some of whom gave their very lives so that all citizens can vote. History cannot list all of the sacrifices made by countless Americans who would not stop until victory was won. As a 12 year old child, I remember going with my mother to the polls in 1968. I will never forget what my mother told me on that day and her words have stayed with me all of these years. She said, “I must vote because people died for me to have this right.” On that day I gave my beloved mother a new title: “role model”

The choice is yours! Will you sit at home and refuse to participate and allow this crucial election to be decided by 6 to 13 percent of the population? Will you remain silent and give up your right to vote by failing to go to the polls? Will the conversation on March 16, 2016 contain empty complaints and regrets because the outcome was decided without you?

As for me, I will cast my vote in this election!  I urge you to cast your vote for the candidates and issues on the ballot during early voting from today through March 12, 2016, or on Primary Election Day March 15, 2016. I believe that now is the time to stand tall for our country, state and county. We must raise the standard of participation for ourselves as well as for our children, grandchildren and future generations. We must show them that the only vote that doesn’t count is the one that is never cast. Join me at the polls and cast your vote!  The choice is yours.

Pearl Burris Floyd
Chief Operating Officer
Gaston Regional Chamber of Commerce
 

Leave a Reply

